bunny sketch

Bunny…sleeping…

I have dreamed of bunnies sleeping, in little beds, wearing mop caps, for a while now. If it were anyone else, it might be worrying, but it is just me, so it’s OK.

I made my first prototype of this idea last year. It was sweet, but not quite right. teal bloomsbury bunny

Immy has taken custody of him, so he is quite happy. He wasn’t rotund enough, for one thing. My sketches definitely show a slightly tubby bunny.

bunny sketch

So last month I began the drafting and redrafting of patterns until I was happy. This is a bit of a lengthy process of drawing sketches,  drafting patterns and making calico prototypes. I chose a range of vintage prints from the 1930’s inspired Aunt Grace range by the wonderful Judie Rothermel for Marcus Brothers, as I really wanted a vintage feel for these toys.

Here is the first finished bunny. I hope you like him, complete with his English Paper-pieced patchwork quilt, hand embroidered linen pillow and linen ‘ticking’ mattress, all tucked up in a ‘shoebox’.  I will be making versions with minky faces, too.

They will be in my Etsy Shop very soon. x

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

This entry was published on February 9, 2015 at 1:08 pm. It’s filed under Sketchbook, Studio News, Toys and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

